Published: Sun, December 09, 2018
Sport | By Matt Richards

Which School Has the Most Heisman Trophy Winners?

Which School Has the Most Heisman Trophy Winners?

Oklahoma's Kyler Murray won the Davey O'Brien Award for the nation's top quarterback Thursday night at the Home Depot College Football Awards. Haskins also is a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, which will be presented Saturday night in NY. Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray was named the AP player of the year Wednesday, and was chosen as the Davey O'Brien Award victor as the nation's top quarterback today.

Tagovailoa is Alabama's second Walter Camp Award victor, joining running back Derrick Henry in 2015. The other finalists for the Walter Camp were Murray, Minshew, West Virginia quarterback Will Grier and Kentucky linebacker Josh Allen.

More news: Thousands of Northern Ireland O2 customers lose data services over technical issue

Senior wide receiver Tim Brown was the last Notre Dame player to win in 1987. He went on to become one of three 4,000-yard passers in the nation and threw for 40 touchdowns.

Murray was the most exciting player in college football this season and his success has many thinking he could reverse course and choose the NFL over the Major League Baseball. If Haskins wins for Ohio State, the university will surpass Notre Dame as the program to have produced the most Heisman winners. Murray was named The Associated Press college football Player of the Year, Thursday, Dec. 6, 2018.

More news: Top GOP senators say 'zero' doubt Saudi crown prince ordered Khashoggi's death

Murray is the first FBS player to enter bowl season averaging at least 300.0 passing yards (311.8) and at least 60.0 rushing yards (68.6) per game. Ohio State fans were not happy with the way ESPN had handled the Heisman race coverage, touting Murray and Tagovailoa, but forgetting about Haskins.

Murray is having a historic season. Only twice since 2002 has the AP Player of the Year not won the Heisman, Nebraska's Ndamukong Suh in 2009 and Stanford's Christian McCaffrey in 2015. McCarron was the last Maxwell Award victor to not win the Heisman. Oklahoma's Baker Mayfield won the Davey O'Brien and Maxwell awards on his way to the 2017 Heisman Trophy.

More news: Imagery shows North Korean ballistic missile base expansion

Like this: